Monday, 24 October 2011

In PHOTOS: Doomed satellite plunges to earth, its fate unknown - Rediff.com News

German satellite ROSAT
     Next

A bus-sized defunct German satellite on Sunday plunged to Earth after languishing in a dead orbit for more than a decade, but space officials have no idea yet about where it fell.

According to the German Aerospace Centre, the 2.7-tonne Roentgen Satellite, or ROSAT, slammed into Earth's atmosphere sometime between 01:45 GMT (6:15 IST) and 02:15 GMT (6:45 IST) on Sunday, but scientists are yet to confirm where exactly the doomed satellite fell on Earth.

"There is currently no confirmation if pieces of debris have reached Earth's surface," German aerospace officials were quoted as saying by Space.com.
Image: German satellite ROSAT
Photographs: Courtesy: NASA

Post a Comment

Ethical Alliance Daily News 

Ethical Alliance Daily News    Mexico: Ex-Pemex CEO Lozoya Denies Receiving $10 Million Odebrecht Bribe Aug 15, 2017 08:00 pm Forme...